Millennium Post

Nandyal bypoll: Naidu thanks voters; YSRC downplays loss

Amaravati: Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister N Chandrababu Naidu on Monday said the victory of Telugu Desam Party (TDP) in the by-election to Nandyal Assembly seat reflected the people's trust in his governance.
He thanked the people of the state for supporting the TDP-led government and its development agenda.
However, the opposition YSR Congress (YSRC), which lost the bypoll, said the setback was "temporary".
"Thanking people of Nandyal for showing their trust in TDP's governance. Will create a Smart Nandyal by following our motto 'People First'," Naidu said in a tweet after his party's Bhuma Brahmananda Reddy was declared winner in the bypoll.
Reddy defeated his nearest rival, YSR Congress candidate and former minister, Silpa Chandra Mohan Reddy, by a huge margin of 27,466 votes this afternoon. "People have endorsed development agenda, upheld values in public life. Rejected and punished negative politics & disorderliness," the chief minister tweeted.
Naidu also thanked Prime Minister Narendra Modi who congratulated Brahmananda Reddy and the TDP over the victory. "We're happy to see that people of Nandyal have reflected their belief in our model of governance," the TDP president added.
Meanwhile, YSR Congress president Y S Jaganmohan Reddy said it would be a "mistake" for Naidu to claim victory in Nandyal.
"I would accept the people's verdict but at the same time it is a mistake for Chandrababu Naidu to claim victory. The setback (for YSRC) is temporary and it is not prudent for Naidu to describe it as a victory as ethics, morals and values were thrown to winds and there was no level-playing field," Jagan told a press conference.
He dared the chief minister to make all 20 MLAs, who defected from the YSRC to the TDP, resign from their posts and face fresh elections.
"One can then call it a referendum (on the state government)," the Leader of Opposition remarked.
Goa by-polls: Parrikar wins Panaji, Vishwajit Rane wins Valpoi for BJP
Panaji: The ruling BJP on Monday won the by- elections to two assembly seats in Goa, with Chief Minister Manohar Parrikar emerging victorious from Panaji and health minister Vishwajit Rane from Valpoi.
It was crucial for the BJP to bag the two seats as it does not enjoy a majority on its own in the 40-member assembly.
Parrikar, who returned to the state from the Centre after the assembly elections in February, defeated his nearest rival, Congress's Girish Chodankar, by 4,803 votes.
As per the final results announced this morning, Parrikar polled 9,862 votes against 5,059 by Chodankar.
Goa Suraksha Manch (GSM) president Anand Shirodkar polled 220 votes, while 301 people pressed None of The Above (NOTA) button in the August 23 election.
Chodankar, a senior leader of the Goa Congress, is a close aide of party vice president Rahul Gandhi.
Parrikar, who had been getting elected from Panaji constituency since 1994, had resigned in November 2014 to join the Union Cabinet as Defence Minister.
BJP leader Sidharth Kuncolienkar, who won the subsequent by-poll from Panaji and retained the seat in the 2017 elections, stepped down to make way for Parrikar who returned to the state in March and formed a coalition government.
Parrikar said he was happy with the margin of his victory.
"I am thankful to the people of Panaji who elected me.
It's a repeat of the 2012 assembly elections," he said, attributing the result to his performance and connection with the people.
Chodankar said he was grateful to the people of Panaji for their "love and affection". "I might have lost but I have made a place in the hearts of the people of Panaji," he said.
BJP candidate and health minister Vishwajit Rane retained his Valpoi seat by defeating his nearest rival Roy Naik of the Congress by 10,066 votes. Rane had resigned as MLA after leaving the Congress.
With Monday's results, the BJP's strength in the House rises to 14. The Congress has 16 MLAs, Goa Forward Party (GFP) and Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party (MGP) three each, NCP one, while three are independent.
The BJP-led coalition comprises GFP, MGP and the three independents.

Next Story
Share it