Millennium Post

DMK names Kanimozhi, ex-ministers Maran, Baalu among LS candidates

Chennai: DMK on Sunday announced former union ministers Dayanidhi Maran, A Raja and T R Baalu and its Rajya Sabha member Kanimozhi among its candidates for the 20 Lok Sabha constituencies it is contesting in Tamil Nadu.

Releasing the list of candidates which included another woman, party president M K Stalin said Maran will contest from Central Chennai, A Raja from Nilgiris (SC) and T R Baalu from Sriperumbudur constituencies, which they had won in 2009. Stalin's sister and RS MP Kanimozhi will for the first time try her luck in the LS polls as she had been fielded in Tuticorin constituency in southern TN. A total of 12 candidates are new faces. In the April 18 elections, DMK is contesting 20 out of the 39 LS seats in the state, leaving the rest to its allies, including Congress. The party had drawn a blank in the 2014 polls when it contested 34 seats while its arch rival AIADMK romped home winning 37 segments. Congress failed to win a single seat.

Replying to questions from reporters, Stalin said DMK's manifesto will be released soon.

It would be both the "hero and heroine and definitely not a villain," he added. DMK also named its candidates for bypolls to the 18 assembly constituencies in the state to be held along with the LS polls on April 18. Former union ministers of state S Jagathrakshagan and S S Palanimanickam have been fielded in Arakkonam and Thanjavur constituencies.

Kanimozhi's Rajya Sabha terms ends in July this year.

T Sumathi alias Tamizhachi Thangapandian, a noted orator in Tamil, will contest from Chennai South, Kalanidhi Veerasamy from Chennai North and D M Kathir Anand, son of party Treasurer Duraimurugan, from Vellore. While Tamizhachi is the daughter of late DMK leader V Thangapandian and sister of former state Minister Thangam Thennarasu, Kalanidhi is the son of fomer state Minister Arcot N Veerasamy. Similarly, in Kallakurichi, former State Minister K Ponmudi's son Gowtham Sigamani is fielded.

Other candidates are: G Selvam (Kancheepuram-SC), S Senthilkumar (Dharmapuri), C N Annadurai (Tiruvannamalai), S R Parthiban (Salem), K Shanmugasundaram (Pollachi), P Velusamy (Dindigul), T R V S Sriramesh (Cuddalore), S Ramalingam (Mayiladuthurai), Dhanush M Kumar (Thenkasi-SC), and S Gnanathiraviam (Tirunelveli).

Next Story
Share it