Millennium Post

BSP and JD(S) announce alliance for Karnataka polls

BSP and JD(S) announce alliance for Karnataka polls
New Delhi: The BSP and the JD(S) on Thursday announced that they are entering into an alliance to contest the Karnataka Assembly polls together.
The alliance would continue in the 2019 Lok Sabha elections as well, Satish Chandra Misra of the Bahujan Samaj Party and Danish Ali of the Janata Dal (Secular) said at a press conference.
The term of the 224-member Karnataka Assembly ends in May.
The BSP will be contesting from eight reserved and 12 general Assembly constituencies spread across 14 districts of the state. The JD(S) will fight for the remaining 204 seats, aiming to form government under the leadership of JD(S) state chief H D Kumaraswamy, the leaders announced.
The national presidents of both parties, H D Deve Gowda and Mayawati, will launch a joint campaign for the Assembly polls on February 17 from Bengaluru.
Describing it as a "path breaking" move, Ali said the alliance would have larger ramifications for Indian politics.
Team MP

Team MP

Our contributor helps bringing the latest updates to you

Share it