Millennium Post

Bidhuri likely to be made Leader of Opposition in Delhi Assembly

New Delhi: After facing an embarrassing defeat in Delhi elections, BJP leadership is struggling to choose the Leader of Opposition for the Assembly.

BJP leadership at the Centre has appointed BJP General Secretary Saroj Pandey as an observer to elect the Leader of Opposition. However, it doesn't seem to be an easy task for Pandey, who has to talk to all the 8 MLAs, besides taking the old leaders of the party into confidence.

BJP has got eight seats in the Assembly elections. Three MLAs are said to be the frontrunners for the position of Leader of Opposition. However, the date for the meeting of elected MLAs has not been decided yet. According to sources, Ramveer Singh Bidhuri is likely to be made the Leader of Opposition.

Besides Bidhuri, Vijender Gupta, Mohan Singh Bisht, Omprakash Sharma, Abhay Verma, Jitendra Mahajan, Anil Vajpayee, Ajay Mahawar have won the elections. Bisht, who won the election from Karaval Nagar for the fifth time and Bidhuri, who reached the Assembly for the fourth time from Badarpur, are being considered as strong contenders for the post.

Another leader Gupta, who was made the Leader of the Opposition in the previous Assembly, has yet again won the Assembly election.

Bidhuri is an experienced politician. He started his political journey with the Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad. He has been in different political parties. In 1993, he won the Assembly election on a Janata Dal ticket. He was also elected the Janata Dal Legislative Party. He then joined the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) in 2003.He also received the award for Best Legislator.

Bidhuri, a leader from Gurjar community, joined BJP in 2012. In 2013, he reached the Assembly on a BJP ticket. After losing the election in 2015, he has been re-elected MLA in the recently held elections.

Next Story
Share it