Millennium Post

59 Tripura MLAs sworn in

59 Tripura MLAs sworn in
Agartala: Fifty-nine out of the 60 MLAs of the Tripura Assembly were administered their oaths at the assembly house on Thursday by protem speaker Ratan Chakraborty.
Deputy Chief Minister Jishnu Debbarman, who won from Charilam during the day, will be sworn in on Friday, Chakraborty told reporters after the oath taking ceremony.
Chakraborty said that 35 MLAs of ruling BJP, including Chief Minister Biplab Kumar Deb and eight legislators from alliance partner Indigenous Peoples Front of Tripura (IPFT) took their oaths today.
Sixteen MLAs of the opposition CPI-M, including former chief minister Manik Sarkar, who were slated to be sworn in tomorrow, also took their oaths along with the ruling legislators today.
All MLAs of the ruling party will perform in a constructive way , Chief Minister Biplab Kumar Deb told reporters after swearing in as a legislator in the twelfth Assembly.
The chief minister said he expected a ''healthy opposition will also take part in the assembly proceedings in a constructive manner .
He said, ''If they (opposition) have any good suggestions, we will accept them.''
Chakraborty said that the first session of the new assembly would begin on March 23 and is likely to continue till March 31.
Meanwhile, Manik Sarkar was unanimously elected as the leader of the CPI-MLP and would be proposed as leader of the opposition, party mouthpiece Daily Deshrkatha reported today.
Next Story
Share it