Millennium Post

43 candidates file nominations for 2nd phase of LS polls in Rajasthan

Jaipur: A total of 43 candidates, including Union minister Rajyavardan Singh Rathore, filed their nomination papers Tuesday for the second phase of Lok Sabha elections in Rajasthan, officials said.

As per the office of the Chief Electoral Officer, Rajasthan, the candidates filed nominations in 12 Lok Sabha constituencies.

The first phase of election for 13 seats in the state will be held on April 29 while in the second phase, 12 seats go to polls on May 6.

Among those who filed their nomination papers Tuesday include BJP's sitting MP from Jaipur rural, Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore, Sumedhanand Saraswati from Sikar and Rahul Kaswan from Churu besides Sheopat Ram of the CPI (M) from Bikaner and Congress's Jyoti Mirdha from Nagaur.

The nomination process for the second phase began in the state on Wednesday.

The last date for filing nominations for the second phase is April 18.

The papers will be scrutinised on April 20 and names can be withdrawn until April 22.

The 12 Lok Sabha constituencies covered in this phase are Sriganganagar, Bikaner, Churu, Jhunjhunu, Sikar, Jaipur Rural, Jaipur Urban, Alwar, Bharatpur, Karauli-Dholpur, Dausa and Nagaur.

A total of over 2.30 crore voters will be able to exercise their franchise at 23,783 polling stations in these constituencies.

For the first phase, filing nominations for 13 Lok Sabha seats, which go to polls on April 29, has already been completed .

Next Story
Share it