Millennium Post

Namesakes may spoil chance of candidates in Kerala

Namesakes may spoil chance of candidates in Kerala
The ‘namesake phenomenon’ is expected to create trouble for major candidates at least in 12 constituencies including Kasaragode, Kannur, Alathur, Ponnani, Vadakara, Mavelikkara, Alappuzha, Pathanamthitta, Kollam, Thiruvananthapuram, and Attingal.

Of the 269 candidates in the fray in the total 20 constituencies for the 10 April Lok Sabha polls, around 30 are candidates bearing names similar to those of major candidates.

Causing tension for LDF candidate Bennet Abraham in Thiruvananthapuram is the presence of one Bennet Babu Benjamin in the fray.

One Sambath Anil Kumar is there in the list in Attingal with CPI(M)’s A Sampath while in Palakkad constituency Veerendrakumar O P is there along with M P Veerendrakumar of SJ(D).

While two namesakes are there against RSP’s N K Premachandran in Kollam, PK Biju of CPI(M) in Alathur faces threat from three candidates having names like R Biju, A Biju and K Biju.

There are instances in which such candidates, known as ‘aparanmar’ in local parlance, had dented the prospects of certain candidates of major political parties in the state during previous polls.

One among them was P A Muhammed Riyaz of CPI(M) who tried his electoral luck from Kozhikode constituency in 2009. Four candidates, bearing similar names like his, had amassed more than 4000 votes and he was defeated by MK Ragahavan of Congress by a slender margin of 838 votes.
Kozhikode constituency has the highest number of candidates having similar names – four.

A N Shamseer (Vadakara) and C B Chandrababu (Alappuzha) (CPI-M candidates), CPI(M)-backed independent Joyce George (Idukki), CPI?s Sathyan Mokeri (Wayanad) and RSP?s N K Premachandran (Kollam) have two other candidates of similar name in the poll fray.

The election scenario in the state will get more vigorous in the coming days with national leaders of various political parties reaching the state.

Prime minister Manmohan Singh, AICC chief Sonia Gandhi Congress vice-president Rahul Gandhi, BJP’s prime ministerial candidate Narendra Modi and CPI(M) general secretary Prakash Karat are expected to address election rallies in different parts of the state in the first week of April.
Next Story
Share it