Millennium Post

Naman Ojha to lead Rest of India in Irani Cup

Wicketkeeper-batsman Naman Ojha, who represents Madhya Pradesh in the Ranji Trophy, will skipper the Rest of India in the Irani Cup against Ranji champions Mumbai.

The annual match will be played at the Brabourne Stadium in Mumbai from March 6 to 10. The Board of Control for Cricket in India’s (BCCI) All-India National Selection Committee met on Friday and announced the Rest of India team, BCCI secretary Anurag Thakur said in a statement.

Ojha has played one Test match, one One-Day International and two Twenty20 Internationals for India.

Mumbai clinched the Ranji Trophy, the domestic cricket’s most prized tournament, at the Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium in Pune on Friday by defeating Saurashtra by an innings 21 runs. This is Mumbai’s 41st Ranji title.

The match is named after Z.R. Irani, who was associated with the BCCI from its inception in 1928 till his death in 1970.  Last year, Karnataka beat the Rest of India to lift the Irani Cup. Rest of India team: K.S. Bharat, Faiz Fazal, Karun Nair, Sheldon Jackson, Naman Ojha (captain), Stuart Binny, Shahbaz Nadeem, Jayant Yadav, Nathu Singh, Jaydev Unadkat, Barinder Sran, Krishna Das, Sudeep Chatterjee, Ian Dev Singh, Akshay Wakhare.
Next Story
Share it