Millennium Post

Modi Govt sacks 4 directors nominated to IOCL by pro-US Manmohan regime

After Governors, the Narendra Modi government is removing independent directors appointed by the previous UPA regime on PSU boards, beginning with sacking of four directors on the board of Indian Oil Corporation Ltd (IOCL). Indian Oil Corporation Ltd, the nation's largest company, in a filing to the stock exchanges said, ‘K Jairaj, Nesar Ahmad, Sunil Krishna and Sayan Chatterjee have ceased to be Independent Directors on the Board of the company on August 27, 2014.’

All the four directors were appointed to IOC board in March this year for a three-year term. Their appointment was to be confirmed/ ratified by the company shareholders but IOC did not move a resolution to this effect at its annual general meeting (AGM) in Mumbai yesterday, leading to their cessation.

While Indian Oil Corporation Ltd Chairman B Ashok did not reply to phone calls seeking comments and its company secretary Raju Ranganathan said that he is not authorised to speak on the issue, sources stated the new government is reviewing all recent appointments on board of public sector companies.

The Narendra Modi Government is seeking removal of all political appointments, the latest in the list being Sheila Dixit who quit earlier this week. She is the eighth governor to resign since the NDA government came to power in May. The new government wants to change all previous UPA appointed directors but to start with it is looking at appointments that need confirmation now, they said.

Of the eight independent directors on IOC board, four — K Jairaj, former Additional Chief Secretary, Karnataka; Nesar Ahmed, past president of ICSI; Sunil Krishna, former director general of NHRC, and Sayan Chatterjee, former Secretary to government of India — cease to be directors on company board.
Next Story
Share it