Maradona meets referee who allowed 'Hand of God' goal

Argentina football legend Diego Maradona kissed and hugged referee Ali Bennaceur who allowed his handball goal in the 1986 World Cup and presented him with a signed Argentine jersey when the two met in Tunisia this week. Argentina defeated England 2-1 in the quarter-finals of the 1986 World Cup in Mexico to go on and eventually win the championship. Maradona scored twice in the match with the first strike being a very controversial one. The ball came off a defender when Maradona, now 54, went up and hit it in with his hand, getting past England goalkeeper Peter Shilton. 


Our contributor helps bringing the latest updates to you

Share it