Mamata rehabilitates four ministers of earlier Cabinet

They are Manish Gupta (former Power Minister), Chandrima Bhattacharjee (former Minister of State, Health and Law), Shankar Chakraborty (former PWD Minister) and Upen Biswas (former Backward Classes Minister). Banerjee said their experience might be utilised in their erstwhile departments.

Gupta will be appointed the adviser to CM, power and non- conventional energy sources in the rank and pay of cabinet ministers. 

Bhattacharya would be appointed as the chairperson of West Bengal medical Services Corporation in the rank and pay of minister of state. 

Chakraborty will be the chairman of Mackintosh Burn Limited, West Bengal Serby Pharma limited and Britania Engineerring Limited in the rank and pay of cabinet ministers. 

Biswas will be the chairman of WB SC, ST Development and Finance Corporation and chairman of backward Classes Development and Finance Corporation in the rank and pay of a cabinet minister. 

It may be recalled that while giving her reaction after Trinamool Congress’ landslide victory on May 19, she said that these four former ministers would be rehabilitated.  She could not digest their defeat and had said that in Jadavpur where Gupta had faced Sujon Chakraborty of the CPI(M), police did excesses. 

Mamata Banerjee had also said that she would use Ajay Dey who lost to his Congress rival in Shantipur in Nadia. 

Five of the ministers in the former Cabinet have lost in the elections. Apart from the four, who had been rehabilitated on Monday, the other former ministers are: Madan Mitra,  Pundarikakshya Saha, Krishnendu Narayan Chowdhury, Sabitri Mitra and Shyamapada Mukherjee. 

Two of TMC nominees, Nirbed Roy and Sohom Chakraborty were defeated by 540 and 600  votes.



Our contributor helps bringing the latest updates to you

Share it