Millennium Post

Mamata forms council of advisors, picks 6 ministers

In an effort to incorporate six formal central ministers of the party in the state administration, West Bengal chief minister Mamata Banerjee has appointed them as advisors to various departments in the state government on Sunday. The state government said, the move is to use their expertise and experience in the Union government to speed up work of the state government.

Apart from former six Trinamool Congress ministers, who recently resigned after Congress-TMC break up, former Railway Minister from the AITC, Dinesh Trivedi has also been incorporated in the ‘council of advisors’ as an advisor to the tourism department. Mukul Roy, who had replaced Trivedi after his controversial Rail Budget, has been appointed advisor to state transport department. Saugata Roy will look after the state industry department. Trivedi's return also has triggered some speculation among political circles since his disagreement with the AITC supremo Mamata Banerjee over the fare price hike cost him his berth in the Union Cabinet. Among others Sudip Bandopadhyay, Sisir Adhikari, Sultan Ahmed and Chowdhury Mohan Jatua are being appointed as advisors to urban development, rural development, minority development and Sundarban developments respectively. The council of advisors will directly report to chief minister Mamata Banerjee. All the advisors will sit in Writers’ Buildings.
Next Story
Share it