Major reshuffle in West Bengal IPS cadre

In a major reshuffle in the IPS cadre in West Bengal, Debasish Boral and Satyajit Bandhyopadhyay, whose names had cropped up over and again in connection with the Nandigram firing incident, have been transferred to two crucial positions of the Kolkata Police. 

Supratim Sarkar, who was superintendent of police of Hooghly during Singur fiasco, will be the new special additional CP and joint commissioner of police (headquarters) of the Kolkata Police.

Boral, who was joint CP (Armed Police), will be the new joint CP (Crime) and Bandhyopadhyay will be the new Joint CP (Armed Police). He is at present DIG (Malda Range).

Sarkar is at present special additional CP and Joint CP (traffic) of the Kolkata Police. He will become special additional CP and joint commissioner of police (headquarters) by replacing Rajeev Mishra, who will be the Kolkata Police's additional commissioner of police II. 

Pallab Kanti Ghosh, who was the special additional CP and joint commissioner of police (crime), will be the new chief of the city police’s intellegence section. 

Alike Ghosh, Sarkar and Boral, Akhilesh Chaturvedi the present deputy commissioner (special task force) will continue serving in the Kolkata Police. 

He will be the new deputy commissioner of the Central Division and Vishal Garg, who is at present DIG Midnapore Range, will be the joint CP (special task force). 

Sumajit Ray, the deputy commissioner II of the city police’s detective department will be DC  of the special task force by replacing Chaturvedi.

The present deputy commissioner of the central division Bastab Baidya will be the new DIG Midnapore Range and DIG CID will be Bharat Lal Meena.

Soumen Mitra, who was special commissioner II of the Kolkata Police will be special commissioner I.

Superintendents of police of five districts - Cooch Behar, South Dinajpur, Nadia, Jhargram and North Dinajpur -  have been changed. 

Arnab Ghosh, who was posted in Bidhannagar Commissionerate, when CBI had initiated a probe into the Saradha Group scam, will be the new SP of South Dinajpur. He is at present posted in CID. Bhaskar Mukherjee will be the SP in Nadia. 

Mukherjee is at present serving as a deputy commissioner of Howrah Commissionerate. Sukhendu Hira will be the SP of Jhargram Police district.

In Wednesday’s reshuffle, a total of 45 IPS officers poisoned have been changed and some of them were also given promotion.
M Post Bureau

M Post Bureau

Our Contributor help bring you the latest article around you


View All

Latest News

View All
Share it