Millennium Post

Maha: Cong wins 122 seats, BJP gets 116 seats in 3rd phase

The opposition Congress on Monday won 122 seats and bagged eight municipal president's post in the third round of municipal council and nagar panchayat polls in Maharashtra while the ruling BJP won 116 seats, taking its tally in three phases to 1061 councillors.

Polling held on Sunday for the third phase of elections in 19 municipal councils and two nagar panchayats in Aurangabad, Nanded, Bhandara and Gadchiroli districts, the results of which were announced on Monday.

BJP retained its overall top position. In the third phase it won 116 seats, taking its tally in three phases to 1061 councillors. The ruling party also won eight posts of municipal council president in the third phase, taking the tally of its council presidents to 64.

At the end of three phases, BJP continued to remain the single largest party while Congress finished second with 894 seats, followed by NCP at 786 and Shiv Sena at 598.

NCP and an independent candidate bagged one post of council president each.

The break-up of council presidents' tally at the end of phase 3 is: BJP 64, Congress 33, NCP 21. Sena had won 26 council chief posts earlier but drew blank in the third phase.

Independents bagged two council president posts.

Elections were held in Aurangabad, Bhandara, Gadchiroli and Nanded districts in the third phase. 


Our contributor helps bringing the latest updates to you

Share it