Millennium Post

Leaders from BJP, Cong, BSP defect to AAP

In a major ‘boost’ to the Aam Aadmi Party, seven leaders from various political outfits joined the party on Thursday. Among these leaders are — Kartar Singh Tanwar, BJP’s councillor from Bhati (Chhatarpur), Reeta Chauhan, Independent councillor from Bakhtawarpur ward under Narela assembly seat.

Tanwar, who was also a former chairman of SDMC’s (South Delhi Municipal Corporation) standing committee, joined the party in presence of his supporters. During the occasion, he said he will expose the ‘misdeeds’ of MCD, which the BJP has been ruling since past seven years. ‘The MCD have turned into a den of corruption. I will expose them. I promise to work towards the clean politics of AAP’, said Tanwar, two time councillor from the ward.

Another councillor Reeta Chauhan, who represents the Bakhtawarpur ward also joined AAP. She is currently an independent corporator and had quit the BSP after the 2012 MCD elections.

BSP leader from Narela, Sharad Kumar Chauhan, who had contested the last assembly polls in Delhi, also joined the party. Chauhan narrowly lost the Narela assembly constituency with a margin of 800 votes.  

Another prominent leader to join the party was Dharampal Lakra of Congress. Dharampal is a former secretary of district Congress committee and has been a member of Food Corporation of India. Nija Bansal, former BJP youth leader and secretary of city unit of Bharatiya Janata Yuva Morcha also announced his decision to join AAP.

On the occasion, the AAP made it clear that leaders from other political parties who do not have a past criminal record and do not face any other serious allegation are welcome to join the party for changing the politics of the country.
Next Story
Share it