Millennium Post

K’taka panchayat polls: Cong defeats BJP

The ruling Congress on Tuesday defeated the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in the Taluk Panchayat and Zila Panchayat elections in Karnataka.

The State Election Commission notified that of 1,083 zila panchayat seats, the BJP has won 408, Congress 498, Janata Dal (S) 148, CPM 1, Independent 27, Janata Dal (U) 1.

Of 3,884 taluk panchayat seats, the results of 3,882 seats have been declared. The BJP has won 1,363, Congress 1,703 Janata Dal (Secular) 609, BSP 5, CPM 6, Independent 179, Janata Dal (U) 9, Others 8. 

The elections had taken place in two phases. A total of 74.37 per cent voting was recorded in the first phase held on February 12. The second phase of the zilla and taluk panchayat elections was held in 15 districts of Karnataka, which saw a 68-70 per cent turnout.

Mysuru, Chikkamagaluru, Dakshina Kannada, Hassan, Kodagu, Mandya, Chamarajanagar, Udupi, Bidar, Ballari, Kalaburagi, Yadgir, Raichur, Koppal and Vijayapura were the districts that went for polls in the second phase of polls.

Candidates in one zilla panchayat seat and three taluk panchayat seats have been declared elected unopposed.

The results of these grassroots level elections is seen as a run-up to the 2018 Assembly Elections as it would not only reflect the political mood of the people but also give their perception on Siddaramaiah-led Congress government in the state.
Next Story
Share it