Millennium Post

K’taka crush Punjab, defend Vijay Hazare title

K’taka crush Punjab, defend Vijay Hazare title
Karnataka defended their title in grand style after their top-order led by centurion Mayank Agarwal rose to the occasion to crush a hapless Punjab by 156 runs in the Vijay Hazare one-day tournament final, here on Tuesday.

Put into bat in the day-night encounter at the Sardar Patel Stadium, Motera, Karnataka rode on a 162-run opening partnership between Agarwal (125) and Robin Uthappa (87) to post an imposing 359 for seven. In reply, the Harbhajan Singh-led side was bundled for 203 in 38.2 overs. With a cushion of runs at their disposal, Karnataka bowlers, led by medium-pacer Abhimanyu Mithun, made the strong Punjab batting look ordinary as Mandeep Singh top-scored with 76 runs.

But it was the Karnataka batsmen who set up the victory for the South Zone powerhouse. The young Agarwal, who was declared the Man of the Match, made his presence felt in the domestic circuit by smashing 125 in 100 deliveries, the knock laced with 10 fours and 3 sixes. Uthappa, at the other end, also made merry with a 81-ball 87, striking 9 fours and 3 sixes.

BriefScores Karnataka 359/7 in 50 overs (Mayank Agarwal 125, Robin Uthappa 87, Sandeep Sharma 3-68). Punjab 203 all out 38.2 overs (Mandeep Singh 76, Amitoze Singh 46; A Mithun 3-37).
Next Story
Share it