Millennium Post

K’taka CM to induct 29 cabinet members with ‘clean image’

K’taka CM to induct 29 cabinet members with ‘clean image’
Karnataka chief minister Siddaramaiah said on Friday he will induct 29 members to his ministry on Saturday, four days after he took office.

‘Twenty-nine will be sworn-in tomorrow (Saturday),’ he told reporters on arrival here from New Delhi. He declined to reveal the names. Siddaramaiah took oath alone 13 May.

He and the state Congress president G. Parameshwara were in the national capital since 15 May for talks with party president Sonia Gandhi, vice-president Rahul Gandhi and other leaders to finalise the names from among the over 50 aspirants for the 33 slots in the ministry.

Under the consitutional arrangement, Karnataka can have a 34-member ministry including the chief minister that is 15 percent of the strength of the assembly, which has 225 members, including one nominated.

The Congress ministry formation in batches comes amid demand that ‘tainted’ be kept out as the party wrested power from the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on anti-corruption plank.

From Congress Lok Sabha member AH Vishwanath from Mysore to freedom fighter HS Doreswamy, 95, many have been strident in their call to Siddaramaiah to induct into the ministry only party legislators with clean image.

Vishwananth has been telling reporters for the last few days that only legislators with a ‘clean image’ should be made ministers.

Doreswamy has in a letter to Siddaramaiah urged him to keep out the ‘tainted’ from the ministry.

Doreswamy was among the first group of people that Siddaramaiah called on in Bangalore after taking oath as the chief minister.

Others he met included well-known writers such as U.R. Anantha Murthy, Girish Karnad and Chandrashekar Kambar, all Jnanpith Award winners.

Soon after taking oath, Siddaramaiah had told reporters here that his ministry would have people with ‘clean image’.

Governor H.R. Bhardwaj will administer the oath of office and secrecy to the 29 at a function in Raj Bhavan in the city centre.

The Congress has won 121 seats of the 223 for which polls were held on 5 May and results announced 8 May.  

Meanwhile, Siddaramaiah, who was sworn in as the chief minister on 13 May marking return of Congress to power after a seven-year hiatus, however, said there would be no deputy chief minister.


Our contributor helps bringing the latest updates to you

Share it