Millennium Post

Trinamool supported panel bags all 21 posts of IMA

Kolkata: Trinamool Congress (TMC) supported panel won all the 21 posts of Indian Medical Association (IMA)

in Bengal for the year 2021-2022.

There was a triangular fight this year. Trinamool Congress panel was led by Member of Parliament Dr Santanu Sen. Left supported panel was led by Left party member Dr Amitabha Bhattacharya who was a candidate for the post of state president.

The BJP supported panel was led by BJP leader and RSS activist Dr Somnath Sarkar who was the candidate for the state


Out of total 765 votes, around 667 votes were polled. Dr Sarkar got 205 votes.

Dr Santosh Mondal has become the president after securing 387 votes. Left candidate Dr Amitabha Bhattacharya got only 104 votes. BJP presidential candidate Dr Pradip Roychowdhury got 157 votes. Trinamool Congress candidate in the post of president elect Dr M. A. Kasem

got 357 votes while BJP candidate Dr Provas Maji got 281 votes. There was no left candidate.

Dr Santanu Sen who was contesting the election for the post of secretary secured 458 votes. Dr Sen was the current state secretary of the organisation. Trinamool Congress supported candidate Dr Sourav Datta projected for treasurer post got 394 votes.

Next Story
Share it