Millennium Post

Trinamool retains control over Bongaon municipality

Trinamool retains control over Bongaon municipality

Kolkata: Trinamool Congress successfully retained its control over Bongaon municipality on Thursday.

The trouble in the 22-member municipality cropped up after 12 Trinamool Congress councillors moved a no-confidence motion against Shankar Adhya, the chairman of the municipality, on June 7.

The councillors went to Delhi and joined BJP. Thus, Trinamool became the minority in the municipality with 8 councillors. Later, one of the councillors who had joined the saffron party returned back to Trinamool, taking its total to 9.

On July 16, the poll for the no-confidence motion was held, after which BJP moved the High Court, alleging that Trinamool did not allow their councillors to take part in the election.

The High Court had subsequently issued an order to hold the election within 12 days, where the poll would be held under the supervision of the district magistrate.

The BJP did not take part in the election on Thursday, as the party has decided to move the High Court again, describing the election as being "held in an unethical way."

After the Lok Sabha election results came out in May, many Trinamool leaders from North 24-Parganas went to Delhi and joined the saffron party.

BJP then established its control over Halishahar, Naihati, Kanchrapara and Bhatpara. Except Bhatpara, Trinamool has since reestablished its control over the Halishahar, Kanchrapara and Naihati civic bodies.

Trinamool district president and state Food minister Jyotipriya Mallick said in this connection on Thursday: "People in the state have enormous faith in Mamata Banerjee and the Ma Mati Manush government. BJP had forced the councillors to side with them at gunpoint. Now, they have realised that Trinamool has no alternative in Bengal and are all coming back to the party."

Team MP

Team MP

Our contributor helps bringing the latest updates to you

Share it