Millennium Post

Trinamool publishes election manifesto for Kharagpur bypoll

Kolkata: Trinamool Congress published the election manifesto for the Kharagpur Sadar Assembly by-election, which is scheduled to be held on November 25.

The by-election became necessary after state BJP president and MLA Dilip Ghosh became an MP in the 2019 Lok Sabha election. By-elections will also be held in Karimpur and Kaliagunj on November 25. Karimpur Trinamool Congress MLA Mahua Moitra has become an MP while Pramatha Nath Roy, Congress MLA from Kaliagunj died a few months ago.

Trinamool Congress has fielded Pradip Sarkar while Congress and BJP have fielded Chittaranjan Mondol and Prem Chandra Jha for the bypoll.

The manifesto has given emphasis on five important issues, namely development in infrastructure, administrative transparency, welfare of the people, improved security arrangement and better health facilities.

The manifesto was released by state Transport minister Suvendu Adhikari, who led a mammoth rally and later conducted door-to-door campaigning with party nominee Pradip Sarkar.

Adhikari addressed the gathering in Hindi and urged party leaders and workers to put up a united fight and ensure victory of the party candidate.

Kharagpur Sadar was a Congress stronghold till 2016, when Dilip Ghosh defeated Gyan Singh Sohanpal by 5,500 votes. Sohanpal was the MLA from 1982.

There is infighting in BJP over the selection of candidate. While Dilip Ghosh has strongly pleaded for Jha who was his election agent in the 2019 Lok Sabha election, RSS had recommended the name of a retired IIT teacher. However, the BJP headquarters has finally nominated Jha. This has widened the rift between BJP and RSS and many of its workers are not pumping in full effort to ensure the victory of Jha.

Next Story
Share it