Millennium Post

TMC tastes victory in Raghunathpur after re-count

Kolkata: Trinamool Congress has come out victorious in seat number 38 of Raghunathpur block of Purulia Zilla Parishad, where re-counting was held on Sunday.
It may be mentioned that when the results of this Zilla Parishad
seat was announced on Thursday,
it was found that BJP had won by 550 votes, following which Trinamool had sought re-counting, alleging loopholes in the counting process.
The state Election Commission had ordered re-counting of the seat and it was found that TMC candidate Anath Bandhu Majhi had won the
seat, securing 1,029 votes more than BJP candidate Ganesh Singh. The results were announced on Sunday afternoon.
State Election Commissioner A K Singh, in reply to a question on this stark contrast in results, said, "There has been re-counting in the seat. It is still not clear. We have sought a more detailed report from the district administration."
It may be mentioned that when Singh was announced winner in the Raghunathpur seat of the Zilla Parishad, he was also handed over a winning certificate.
The re-counting on Sunday was held at Raghunathpur College in Purulia, under strong security cover to prevent any untoward incident. However, BJP had boycotted the process, alleging that it is a plan on part of the district administration, to make the Trinamool candidate win in the seat.
It may be mentioned that out of 38 seats in Purulia Zilla Parishad, Trinamool Congress had bagged 25, while BJP had managed to win just 10.

Next Story
Share it