Millennium Post

TMC registers complaint against Arjun

Kolkata: Trinamool Congress leaders from North 24-Parganas have registered a complaint with the District Election Officer (DEO) against Arjun Singh, who is contesting the forthcoming Lok Sabha elections from the Barrackpore constituency on BJP's ticket.

A separate complaint was also lodged at the Titagarh police station in this regard. The district Trinamool Congress leaders have alleged that Singh had called up a Trinamool Congress leader in Barrackpore and threatened him with dire consequences.

They also termed the incident as a desperation move after Singh was removed from the post of chairman of Bhatpara Municipality through secret ballot on Monday.

The district TMC leaders are also of the view that Singh is making threat calls after apprehending defeat in the upcoming elections. It may be mentioned here that Singh has recently joined BJP from Trinamool Congress.

After he joined BJP, the Trinamool Congress leaders decided to issue a no-confidence motion in the 34-member Bhatpara Municipality in North 24-Parganas. The no-confidence motion was passed against Singh through a secret ballot, where he lost 21-11.

The DEO of North 24-Parganas, who also happens to be the District Magistrate, will carry out a probe into the alleged threat call and may submit a report to the office of the Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) in the state.

The CEO's office had also sought a report from the DEO on Monday, after a BJP party office was allegedly ransacked in Bhatpara.

Next Story
Share it