Millennium Post

Three police stns to move under aegis of Howrah Police

Kolkata: The state Cabinet on Friday decided to bring three police stations under the aegis of the Howrah Police Commissionerate.

The three police stations are Domjur, Sankrail and Dhulagarh, state Urban Development minister Firhad Hakim said after the cabinet meeting.

Presently, there are 16 police stations under Howrah Police Commissionerate which includes one women police station and a cyber crime police station.

"The move is aimed at better handling of law and order and crime tracking," a cabinet minister said.

The decision to bifurcate New Town police station that comes under Bidhannagar Police Commissionerate into two police stations- Eco Park police station and Techno City police station was also approved by the state cabinet.

"The Pujali out post near Budge Budge in South 24 Parganas will now function as a full fledged police station while Jalangi police station in Murshidabad has also been split into two police stations —Jalangi and Sagar Park," Hakim said after the necessary cabinet nod.

The state cabinet also gave the nod for setting up a new private named after Swami Vivekananda. "This cabinet decision will be soon placed before the state Assembly for approval," he added.

Next Story
Share it