Home > Kolkata > State to go for double certification of seeds before distribution

State to go for double certification of seeds before distribution

 Team MP |  2018-07-05 18:08:27.0

State to go for double certification of seeds before distribution

Kolkata: The state Agriculture department has taken initiatives to ensure double certification of seeds before it is distributed among farmers.

The step has been taken so that each and every seed germinate, ensuring a better yield for farmers.

Asish Banerjee, the state Agriculture minister, held a high-level meeting in this connection with Pradip Mazumder, advisor to the Chief Minister on agriculture, other senior officials of the Agriculture department and managing director of the state Seed Corporation were present in the meeting where issues in this connection was discussed in detail. Banerjee said: "The step has been taken following direction of Chief Minister that farmers should not face any problem in terms of seeds."

Earlier, only once the seeds used to get certified. But with the decision of double certification, seeds will get tested twice before distribution. First the seeds have to be certified before it is packed. Again after the packing, concerned officials will be testing the same on random basis. They will be taking samples randomly and check the quality of seeds for the second time before it is sent out for distribution. The state Agriculture department is also taking necessary steps to set up more number of seed laboratories in the state.

In a bid to increase the production of aromatic rice in the state, the North Bengal Krishi Viswavidyalaya has distributed seeds of Tulaipanji rice free of cost in places including Hemtabad, Raiganj, Kaliaganj and Itahar in North Dinajpur, Balurghat and Kushmandi in South Dinajpur,

The same was also distributed in Malda district. Seeds of Kataribhog variety were distributed in Malda district and Kumarganj, Tapan, Hili and Balurghat in South Dinajpur district. Seeds of Kalonunia were distributed in Jalpaiguri, Cooch Behar and Alipurduar districts.

Share it