Millennium Post

Six new additional judges join Calcutta High Court

Kolkata: Six new additional judges took oath at the Calcutta High Court on Thursday, while another judge was given a formal farewell. The new appointments and the retirement of a judge will take the strength of the judges at the high court to 35 against a sanctioned strength of 72. Rajsekhar Mantha, Sabyashachi Bhattacharya, Protik Prakosh Banerjee, Mousumi Bhattacharyya and Rajjorshi Bhattacharyya were administered the oath as additional judges by Acting Chief Justice Rakesh Tiwari. Justice Rajiv Sharma, who is due to retire on September 25, was given a formal farewell by the high court administration as the courts would be closed for Durga Puja holidays from September 23.
Next Story
Share it