Millennium Post

Search bodies formed to nominate V-Cs of WBGU, JU, PMU

Kolkata: The state Higher Education department has constituted three separate search committees with the purpose of nominating Vice-Chancellors of three universities – namely West Bengal Green University (WBGU) in Hooghly, Jhargram University (JU) and Purba Medinipur University (PMU).
A Bill regarding the three universities was passed in the state assembly in November last year. The committees have been directed to submit a panel of three names in each case at the earliest. All the three universities are state-aided ones.
The search committee for WBGU will be headed by Subires Bhattacharyya, Vice-Chancellor of North Bengal University with Anil Bhiumali, Vice-Chancellor of Raiganj University and Anuradha Mukhopadhyay, V-C of Diamond Harbour Women University as members. It may be mentioned that WBGU is coming up in Hooghly as a centre of excellence of learning and research in various branches of studies related to environmental studies, surface management studies, bio-diversity management. There will be courses at undergraduate and post-graduate level and at the same time, it will be job-oriented.
The university is aimed at reducing the bad affect of pollution both in land and water. Hooghly district has the potential in the field of study and research on environmental studies and bio-diversity management, feels the government.The search committee for JU will have Ranjan Chakraborti, Vice-Chancellor of Vidyasagar University as chairman and Debnarayan Bandyopadhyay, V-C of Bankura University and Subha Sankar Chakraborty, V-C of Netaji Subhas Open University as members.
In the case of PMU, Nemai Saha, V-C of Burdwan University will be the chairman along with Sadhan Chakraborty, V-C of Kazi Nazrul University and Sabyasachi Basu Ray Chowdhuri, V-C of Rabindra Bharati University as members. As per procedures, the search committee will be sending a panel of three names for each of the varsity to the Governor of West Bengal who happens to be the chancellor of all state universities. The Governor will select one person from the list for each case in consultation with the state Education department.

Next Story
Share it