Millennium Post

Praveen Kumar is new chief of Kol Police's detective dept

Kolkata: In a major reshuffle of IPS cadre, Praveen Kumar Tripathi is taking over as the chief of Kolkata Police's detective department from Vishal Garg. Tripathi, the Deputy Commissioner of South Division of Kolkata Police has been appointed as the Joint Commissioner (Crime) of Kolkata Police.
A number of officers in the IPS rank, as well as levels of deputy superintendents and inspectors, were reshuffled by the state Home and Hill Affairs department.
An IPS officer of 2004 batch, Tripathi was involved in the operation that killed top Maoist leader Kishanji in the year 2013.
He was then serving as the Superintendent of Police of West Midnapore.
Sumit Kumar who was Deputy Commissioner of Police (headquarters) Chandannagar Police Commissionerate in Hooghly district was transferred as Deputy Commissioner Traffic of Kolkata Police.
This post was lying vacant after V Solomon Nesakumar was transferred as the Superintendent of East Midnapore. Mitesh Jain who was serving as Deputy Commissioner (Central) of Kolkata Police was promoted to the post of Joint Commissioner (Traffic) Sunil Kumar
Choudhary who was recently made the Joint Commissioner of Siliguri Police Commissionerate (SPC) has been promoted to DIG rank as the Commissioner of SPC.
Niraj Kumar Singh, the Commissioner of SPC will take over as the Inspector General of Intelligence Branch.
Ranendranath Banerjee who was the Deputy Commissioner of South Division in Howrah Police Commisionerate was transferred as Deputy Commissioner (headquarters) of the same commissionerate.
Among other important transfers, Ashesh Biswas who was Special Superintendent of Enforcement Branch of the state police was transferred as Superintendent of Railway police in Sealdah while Dhruba Das who was additional SP of Kurseong was transferred as Additional Special Superintendent in the state CID.
Next Story
Share it