Millennium Post

New police commissionerate to be set up in Hooghly district

The state government is planning to set up a police commissionerate in Hooghly district. If everything goes according to plans, the new police commissionerate will be named Chandannagar Police Commissionerate.

This will be the sixth police commissionerate in Bengal after the change-of-guard in the state after Howrah, Bidhannagar, Barrackpore, Asansol-Durgapur and Siliguri police commissionerates.
As many as nine police stations including Bhadreswar, Rishra, Serampore, Chinsura, Dankuni and two women police stations will be under the police commissionerate. The remaining 17, including a woman police station, will remain under the jurisdiction of the state police that will be headed by the Superintendent of Police.

According to sources in the state Home department, the proposal was mooted to ensure better policing in the area and the bifurcation has been done in such a manner that all the police stations under the jurisdiction of the proposed police commissionerate are along the river Hooghly.

According to plans, the headquarters of the police commissionerate will be Chinsura while the headquarters of the Hooghly rural part will be Singur.

It may be mentioned that soon after the change-of-guard in the state; Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee had taken steps to set up separate police commissionerates in urban parts of the districts.
At the same time, the area that was under the jurisdiction of Kolkata Police was also doubled.
Next Story
Share it