Millennium Post

Manoj Verma becomes new CP of Barrackpore

Kolkata: In a major reshuffle on Thursday, postings of 14 IPS officers including Commissioner of Police (CP), Barrackpore, have been changed. The list includes Superintendent of Police (SP) of three districts — Jalpaiguri, Cooch Behar, Sunderban Police District as well.

As per the order, CP Barrackpore Tanmay Ray Chaudhuri has been transferred to state Criminal Investigation Department (CID) as Deputy Inspector General (DIG), CID (Operations). Inspector General of Police (IGP), Darjeeling, Manoj Kumar Verma has been made the CP, Barrackpore. Significantly, this change has been made effective within a few hours of the Bhatpara incident. Apart from the CP, Barrackpore, SP of Cooch Behar Abhishek Gupta has been made the Deputy Commissioner (DC), Zone I (East) of Asansol-Durgapur Police Commissionerate. Nimbalkar Santosh Uttamrao who was the DC, South Suburban Division (SSD) in Kolkata Police, will replace him.

Sudeep Sarkar who was the DC (Headquarters) in Siliguri Police Commissionerate has been made the DC, SSD. Also, SP Jalpaiguri, Amitava Maity has been posted as DC, Reserve Force (RF). Abhishek Modi who was the DC Zone I in Asansol-Durgapur Police Commissionerate has been made the SP, Darjeeling.

Vaibhav Tiwary who was the DC (Headquarters) at Chandannagar Police Commissionerate has been made the SP of Sunderban Police District. Tathagata Basu, who was the SP of Sunderban Police District replaces him.

Apart from the changes made in the SP rank, Nishat Pervez who was the DIG, CID (Operations) has been transferred to DIG, Burdwan Range. Kallol Ganai who was the IGP, Burdwan Range, has been made the IGP CID II. Ashok Kumar Prasad who was the IGP CID II has been posted as the Additional CP in Kolkata Police. Ajay Kumar Nand, who was posted as the Additional CP II in Kolkata Police has been transferred as IGP Darjeeling.

Amit Kumar Singh, who was in compulsory waiting, has been posted as the Special Superintendent (SS), Intelligence Branch (IB). Prasant Kumar Choudhury, who was SS IB, has been made the DC, Special Branch (SB), in Barrackpore Police Commissionerate.

Next Story
Share it