Millennium Post

Kolkata CP among 4 Bengal cops replaced ahead of polls

KOLKATA: In a surprising move just days before the ensuing Lok Sabha polls, the Election Commission has removed the Commissioners of Police (CPs) of both Kolkata and Bidhannagar. The four officers cannot be involved by the state government in any election-related duties, the poll panel stated.

Dr Rajesh Kumar, ADG, Pollution Control Board has been made the new Commissioner of Police, Kolkata, replacing Anuj Sharma. It may be recalled that Sharma had been made the Commissioner of the city barely two months ago.

The new Kolkata police chief was once private secretary to Mukul Roy when he was Railway Minister.

Natarajan Ramesh Babu, ADG and IGP, Operations has been posted as Commissioner of Police, Bidhannagar.

The Commission has also removed Birbhum SP Shyam Singh and Diamond Harbour SP S Selvamurugan.

In a letter to Chief Secretary Malay De on Friday, the Commission informed that the decision was taken after reviewing the poll-preparedness of the state.

Avannu Ravindranath, DC (Airport Division), Bidhannagar, has been posted as SP Birbhum, while Srihari Pandey, DC, KAP 3rd Battalion, has been posted as SP, Diamond Harbour.

Next Story
Share it