Millennium Post

Govt to bring Bill for varsity named after Nivedita

Kolkata: The state Education Department is likely to introduce six new Bills in the session of the West Bengal Legislative Assembly that starts from November 20 paving way for six new universities which will be set up.
"Four government and two private universities will be set up among which one will be named after Sister Nivedita and it will come up in Salt Lake," a senior official of the Education department said.
Sources said that one of the Bills will be to turn Kolkata's oldest business school IISWBM into a university. "A Green University will come up in Chinsurah, Hooghly; Biswa-Bangla University in Bolpur; and two general degree-awarding universities at Jhargram in West Midnapore and Haldia, East Midnapore," a senior official of the Education department said.
The state government has set up as many as 14 universities since assuming power in 2011.
At West Midnapore, there is only one university that caters to students; Vidyasagar University is over-burdened. "Jhargram, which has been declared a new district, has a huge pool of students who want to pursue higher studies. So we have decided to establish a new university in Jhargarm," the official said.
East Midnapore has 50-odd colleges but no university. "The district has the highest literacy percentage. So we have decided to set up Purba Midnapore University at Haldia, which is likely to see a high enrolment," he added.
Next Story
Share it