Millennium Post

Govt reshuffles IPS cadre after MCC lifts

Kolkata: The state government on Sunday removed Kolkata Police Commissioner Rajesh Kumar and reappointed Anuj Sharma in his place. Gyanwant Singh was reinstated as CP of Bidhannagar City Police and Natarajan Ramesh Babu, who was holding the post, was removed. The order came after the Model Code of Conduct (MCC) was lifted on Sunday.

Both Sharma and Singh had been removed by the Election Commission from their post as CP Kolkata and CP Bidhannagar respectively on April 5 and Kumar and Babu were handed over the charges.

Sharma was holding the post of ADG (Operation) while Singh was posted as Director in the Economic Offence Directorate till date, as per EC's order.

Shyam Singh, Superintendent of Police of Birbhum, who was removed by the EC and given the charge of Commandant in State Armed Police, was also handed back the charge of Birbhum district. Avvaru Rabindranath, who was posted as SP Birbhum till date as per the Commission's order, has been appointed as DC (Airport) in Bidhannagar Commissionerate.

Abhishek Gupta has also been handed over the charge of SP Cooch Behar district. He was earlier removed and appointed as commandant in Specialised India Reserve Battalion (SIRB) by the Commission. Amit Kumar Singh, who was appointed as SP of the district, has been removed.

IPS Devendra Prakash Singh, who was holding the charge as DIG in Midnapore range, has been given the charge as CP of Barrackpore Police Commissionerate by removing Sunil Kumar Choudhary.

A notification effecting changes in the IPS cadre was released by the state Home and Hill Affairs department on Sunday.

It may be mentioned that Rajesh Kumar, Natarajan Ramesh Babu, Amit Kumar Singh and Sunil Kumar Choudhary's postings are still awaited as per the notification.

Next Story
Share it