Millennium Post

Four revenue departments merged to form West Bengal Revenue Service

Kolkata: In a bid to ensure efficient and easy collection of taxes, the state government has constituted integrated West Bengal Revenue Service (WBRS) by merging the existing four Group-A state services.
The four services which are being merged to form the integrated WBRS are West Bengal Commercial Tax Service, the West Bengal Excise Service, the West Bengal Agricultural Income Tax Service and the West Bengal Registration and Stamp Revenue Service.
According to a memorandum of the state Finance department, the administrative reforms in the revenue directorates under the Finance department was under active consideration for improving the efficiency of tax collection and providing better services to taxpayers.
With the merger, the present incumbents of the four services shall be inducted into the integrated WBRS and with retirement or resignation of the existing officers of the four services, the posts held by them will automatically get included in WBRS. Moreover, the terms and conditions of services including the promotional prospects of the existing officers of these four services will continue as per their present service despite the constitution of integrated WBRS by merging the four services.
The recruitment to the WBRS will be made through the combined West Bengal Civil Service (Exe) and the officials of the new service shall be posted in any of the directorates of the Finance department and would also get transferred within the directorates itself. The order will come into force from the beginning of January 2018 and it will be of great help for the common people from the new year. However, the recruitment rules of the new service will be notified in due course of time and the officials of the four services will continue to work in their present posts and will carry on with their present assignments until further order.
Next Story
Share it