Millennium Post

CPM nominates Rabin Deb for Rajya Sabha

Kolkata: Rabin Deb, state Secretariat member and former MLA, has been nominated for the Rajya Sabha by the CPI(M) on Friday. With the CPI(M) having 26 MLAs, Deb has no chance of going to the Rajya Sabha as the Congress is not supporting his party. This is for the first time that since 1977 when the Left came to power in Bengal, the CPI(M) will not have any MLA in the Upper House. Tapan Sen's term came to an end in February while Ritabrata Banerjee is under suspension. In the Lok Sabha, the CPI(M) has just two members. The Congress had decided to support Sitaram Yechury but the Central Committee of the party had decided not to support the former. The Congress has fielded Abhishek Manu Sangvi and Trinamool Congress has decided to support him. Deb was one of the chief spokespersons for the alliance with the Congress in 2016 Assembly elections but the result proved disastrous. The CPI(M) got only 26 seats and the Left Front got 32 — lowest in the past four decades while the Congress got 44 seats. After 2016, the CPI(M) started losing ground further and Deb also lost his grip on the party. The last chance of his rehabilitation also went in vain due to the adamant attitude of the Politburo and Central Committee.

Next Story
Share it