Millennium Post

CM to induct Chandrima Bhattacharya in Cabinet

Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee has congratulated the people of Kanthi Dakshin Assembly constituency after TMC candidate's victory in the by polls. Banerjee said Chandrima Bhattacharya, who won the by poll, would be once again inducted into her Cabinet of ministers.
Bhattacharya was made a minister of state for health, law and judicial affairs after she won the Assembly election in 2011 from Dum Dum North seat. However, she lost the seat in 2016 Assembly election to CPM's Tanmoy Bhattacharya.

Expressing her satisfaction over Chandrima's victory, she said: "We are thankful to people for voting Chandrima. She is a good worker and I was hurt when she was defeated in 2016 Assembly. I will make her a minister in Baishak."

The defeat of Chandrima Bhattacharya and Manish Gupta had pained Banerjee considerably though her party got a landslide victory by winning 211 out of 294 seats in 2016 Assembly election. The main reason for the defeat of both the leaders was infighting. Both were defeated by CPI(M) candidates. Bhattacharya was defeated by Tanmoy Bhattacharya and Gupta was defeated by Sunaj Chakraborty. Gupta has been made a Rajya Sabha member already. The seat fell vacant after actor-turned-politician Mithun Chakraborty resigned.

Meanwhile, the organisational election of the Trinamool Congress will be held on April 21, Mukul Roy, party's vice-president said on Thursday.

Roy said the election would be held at Netaji Indoor Stadium to elect the chairperson and seven working committee members of the party. The organisational election is held once in every five years. He said the names of the electoral college members would be announced on April 17. It may be mentioned that in the last core committee meeting held in March, Mamata Banerjee had requested party leaders not to leave the city on April 21.

From 11 am to 1 pm, nomination papers will be filed. This will be followed by the scrutiny of the nomination papers. The election will be held between 2 pm and 5 pm and the results will be out by 6 pm. Roy also said that an ordinary member who is not a member of the electoral college can file nomination for the post of a working committee member too.

Party leaders said Mamata Banerjee would be unanimously elected as the chairperson. The main thrust will be the Panchayat election scheduled to be held in 2018. This will be followed by the Lok Sabha election in 2019. Party leaders felt that the Trinamool Congress would try to bag maximum number of seats in Bengal.

Also, a strategy will have to be found out to counter the growth of BJP. Party leaders said party workers had already been asked to increase their contact with people and to ensure that development work is carried out properly. The Panchayat and Rural development department has received Rs 2,000 crore for strengthening 3,000 odd gram panchayats in the state and the leaders have been asked to oversee the work and make people aware of the work that are being carried out by the panchayats.
Next Story
Share it