Millennium Post

Cabinet reshuffle: 3 TMC ministers resign

Kolkata: Resignation of three ministers from their posts has led to a reshuffle in the state Cabinet.
James Kujur, Tribal Development minister, and Churamani Mahata, Backward Classes Welfare minister, have resigned from their posts.
Abani Mohan Joardar, who was
MLA from North Krishnanagar Assembly constituency, also resigned from his post.
Kujur is an MLA from Kumargram Assembly constituency in Alipurduar and Mahata is from Gopiballavpur Assembly constituency in West Midnapore district.
It may be mentioned that the Trinamool Congress MLAs resigned from their respective posts to devote more time to the party's organisational work.
Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee said in this connection that they have informed that they want to resign
as they wanted to work more for the party.
She further stated that names of the new ministers are yet to be decided and will be informed once they are finalised.
There had been speculations about the new names.
Sources added that they would be soon finalised and subsequently they would take charge.
Joardar was initially the Correctional Administration minister. But later he continued as a minster without any portfolio due to his illness. Sources said that he resigned due to his illness.
It may recalled that it was in September 2017 that there was a reshuffle in the state Cabinet for the last time.
Asish Banerjee was made the new Agriculture minister replacing Purnendu Basu, who was made the minister of Technical Education, Training and Skill Development department.
The reshuffle took place a few days after a Central level administrative review meeting in which departments were given grades on the basis of their performances.
Next Story
Share it