Millennium Post

By-poll passes peacefully in Murshidabad

Kolkata: The by-election in two Assembly constituencies of Murshidabad passed peacefully on Monday. The by-election was held after the seats fell vacant as MLAs from Nowda and Kandi, Abu Taher Khan and Apurba Sarkar, resigned and contested in the Lok Sabha election from Murshidabad and Berhampur respectively. There were no incidents of violence. The voters stood in long queues and exercised their franchise. Congress leaders alleged that Trinamool had influenced the voters and brought them to the polling stations from home. By-election in the Assembly seats of Bhatpara, Islampur, Habibpur (ST) and Darjeeling was held on Sunday. The result of the by-election will be announced on May 23, along with the results of the Lok Sabha polls.

Next Story
Share it