Millennium Post

BJP supporters protest against nomination of 'outsiders' & 'turncoats'

Kolkata: Infighting in BJP came to light once again, with party supporters protesting against party nominees in different parts of the state.

Supporters were vocal against the nomination of Nisith Pramanik, who has been fielded from the Cooch Behar Lok Sabha seat while the party's vice-president Rajkamal Pathak announced his resignation from the post after being denied ticket for the Lok Sabha. Pathak had wanted to contest from either the Sreerampur or Hooghly seat.

Soon after the candidate list was announced, a section of workers ransacked the BJP party office at Cooch Behar and demanded resignation of their district president Malati Rava. Pramanik had recently joined the saffron party from Trinamool Congress.

"We do not want any turncoat to be selected from Cooch Behar. The party did not consider leaders who have been fighting against Trinamool for years. The list is finalised after consultation with the party's top district leadership," a worker said.

The car of Rava was ransacked and when she tried to walk home, she was allegedly heckled by some agitators. Refuting allegations against her, Rava said the central leadership had nominated Pramanik and district leaders had "no say" regarding the same.

It may be mentioned that Pramanaik had joined the saffron party on February 28 in Delhi from Trinamool Congress.

"They do not accept him as the Cooch Behar candidate and have expressed their dissatisfaction. It is a natural phenomenon in a political party and everything would be sorted out," Rava said.

According to party sources, Dipak Barman, a long-time party worker, may fight from the seat as an Independent Candidate. The situation has taken such an alarming turn that under the instructions of BJP president Amit Shah, the party's observer in Bengal Arvind Menon reached Cooch Behar on Friday night to bring things under control.

BJP state president Dilip Ghosh said on Friday that the party workers have to accept the decision of the central leadership.

Meanwhile, Pathak expressed his discontentment over party leadership alleging that the party has ignored old and veteran leadership in fielding candidates. The party's women's wing president Locket Chatterjee has been fielded from Hooghly, while state youth wing (Yuba Morcha) chief Debojit Sarkar has been fielded from Sreerampur. Pathak has already sent his resignation to Dilip Ghosh.

Meanwhile, posters put up in protest against the candidature of state BJP general secretary Sayantan Basu were also seen in North 24-Parganas. A banner, which bore the names of the district BJP leaders, termed Basu as an 'outsider'.

Next Story
Share it