Millennium Post

Arpita Ghosh forms new dist committee

BALURGHAT: District Trinamool Congress chief Arpita Ghosh has formed a new district committee of the party by dissolving the existing committee in a meeting here in Balurghat on Saturday. The meeting was conducted in a private hotel at Raghunathpur.

Addressing a press conference after forming the committee, Ghosh said: "We have formed a 60-member led new district committee instead of existing one. The new committee will work strengthening Trinamool to fight against its political rivals for 2021 assembly elections in Bengal. The party will announce the name of chairmen and other convenors from the new committee shortly."

According to her, it has been decided that three existing MLAs Bachchu Hansda, Goutam Das and Tofaf Husain Mondal who were elected from Tapan, Gangarampur and Kumarganj assembly constituencies in 2016 will work as new chairmen from those three constituencies.

"We will announce the name of chairmen and other convenors shortly for the rest of three Assembly constituencies-Balurghat, Kushmandi and Harirampur where we have no existing MLA. We have also stressed on strengthening the frontal organisation of the party before upcoming assembly poll. The new committee members will cooperate with each other and campaign on various development projects undertaken by Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee from booth level to block level," she said.

She said Mamata Banerjee's recently launched 'Didi Ke Bolo' campaign has already received huge response from common public.

"I have instructed the MLAs along with party leaders and activists to reach out to people staying in villages covering all six constituencies and address problems of people there. We should not forget that rural people are our base and our party has relentlessly been working for poor and backward people since capturing power in 2011 in Bengal," she said.

It has also been decided that Gangarampur MLA Goutam Das will work as district party coordinator.

Notably, after nominated as district Trinamool chief in June, Ghosh has been directed to power up Trinamool Congress to arrest the surge of the BJP in South Dinajpur ahead of assembly poll.

"It was for her initiative for which the party has retained power in Gangarampur and Buniadpur municipalities from saffron brigade. We are about to capture power in zilla parishad also after a majority of the elected members who had shifted to BJP recently returned back to Trinamool," said veteran Trinamool leader Shankar Chakraborty.

Next Story
Share it