Millennium Post

Apex Court appoints 5 judges for Calcutta HC

New Delhi/Kolkata: In a major development, the Supreme Court collegium has finalised the names of five judges for the Calcutta High Court. According to Law Ministry officials, the top court collegium has approved the names of five advocates as judges of Calcutta HC, while the decision over the selection of two other judges has been deferred as of now.
The SC collegium has approved the names of Biswajit Basu, Amrita Sinha, Sutanu Kumar Patra, Abhijit Gangopadhyay and Jay Sengupta as the judges of HC, while the collegium has disapproved the names of Tirthankar Ghosh and Hiranmay Bhattacharya for their elevation to the post of judge.
In the matter of appointment of Ghosh, the collegium has stated that it needs further information to assess the suitability. The acting chief justice of Calcutta HC may be requested accordingly, the collegium said in its order.
The proposal for the elevation of Hiranmay Bhattacharya has been deferred for now, the order stated.
"For the purpose of assessing merit and suitability of the recommendees for elevation to the High Court, we have carefully scrutinised the material placed in the file, which includes the views of the Chief Minister as forwarded by West Bengal Governor, etc," the SC collegium said in its order.
According to a law ministry official, the notification in this regard would come soon. It may be mentioned that out of the total 73 posts of judges, 39 are lying vacant.

Next Story
Share it