Millennium Post

1986-batch IAS officer Rajiva Sinha set to take over as Chief Secy

Kolkata: Rajiva Sinha is set to take over as the new Chief Secretary of Bengal. Sinha, a 1986 batch IAS officer will be succeeding Malay De, who is going to retire on September 30. Sinha is holding the charge of state Additional Chief Secretary of the Health and Family Welfare department at present.

"Mr Rajiva Sinha, at present the Additional Chief Secretary, Health and Family welfare, will be the new Chief Secretary. Best wishes to him. Our present Chief Secretary, Malay Kumar De, is going to retire on September 30, 2019. He served the state very well. We wish him all the best," tweeted Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee on Thursday.

It may be mentioned that it was June 30, 2017, when De, an IAS officer of 1985 batch took charge as the state's top bureaucrat, replacing 1983 batch IAS officer Basudeb Banerjee, who retired on the same day.

Sinha, an MSc in Geology, had taken over as the state Health Secretary in June 2018. Sanghamitra Ghosh, who is the secretary of Women and Child Development and Social Welfare (WCD&SW), will take over as secretary of the Health department.

Nabanna is also bringing in some other changes in the IAS level, with Sinha taking over as Chief Secretary. Arnab Roy, who is presently the Principal Secretary (PS) of the state Public Works Department, will take over as PS of the Personnel & Administrative Reforms department.

Meanwhile, Naveen Prakash, who presently holds the charge of Additional Chief Secretary of Irrigation department, has been given the additional charge of the PWD department.

Hirdyesh Mohan, Principal Secretary of Water Resources Investigation (WRI), will take over as PS of Sunderban Affairs, while Binod Kumar who holds the charge of secretary, Sunderban Affairs, will take over as secretary of WCD&SW department.

Ravi Inder Singh, PS of Fisheries department, will take over the charge of the Mass Education Extension and Library Services (MEE&LS) department.

Prabhat Mishra, who is the PS of Environment department, will bear the additional responsibility of the WRI department. Subrata Biswas will take over as PS of Paschimanchal Unnayan department from MEE&LS.

Choten Lama, secretary of Backward Classes Welfare department and Neelam Meena, secretary of Youth Affairs & Sports, will interchange their portfolios, while A Subbiah, who is the MD of West Bengal Essential Commodities Supply Corporation, has been given the additional charge of Commissioner, Medinipur division.

Next Story
Share it