Millennium Post

Kolkata to get four new all-women police stations

In a bid to streng-then safety and security arrangement, four more women police stations are set to come up in the city soon. The decision has been approved in the Cabinet meeting held on Monday in Nabanna.

The proposed police stations will come up at Behala, Karaya, Ultadanga and Taltala. With these four new women police stations, that will come up in different divisions of the Kolkata Police including South, Central, South East and Eastern Sub-urban division, the total number of women police stations in the city would go up to 12. 

Sources said that there were two reasons behind setting up of more women police stations. First of all, though the crime rate against women in the city is less compared to that of other cities, setting up of new women police stations would further reduce crime against women. At the same time, the number of women police would also go up in these areas.

The Chief Minister had set a target of setting up of 75 women police stations across the state in phases and around 45 such police stations have already started to function. The rest will also come up gradually. 

In the first phase, women police stations were set up at different places including Asansol, Contai, Jalpaiguri Sadar, Darjeeling Sadar, Barasat, Howrah, Baruipur, Jhargram, Chinsurah, Siliguri and Krishnanagar. Later, 10 more women police stations came up at Balurghat, Kharagpur, Uluberia, Cooch Behar, Raiganj, Berhampore, Haldia, and Arambag. Bidhannagar and  Durgapur Commissionerates also got one women police station each.

It has also been decided to bifurcate the jurisdiction of Dinhata police station in Cooch Behar and set up Sahebganj police station. It has been a longstanding demand of the residents of the area. The jurisdiction of Dinhata police station is considered too big. 
Next Story
Share it