Millennium Post

Kejriwal to take oath on February 14

Kejriwal to take oath on February 14
Exactly an year after he had resigned as Delhi Chief Minister, AAP convenor Arvind Kejriwal will be taking oath as the Chief Minister again on February 14 at Ramlila Maidan.

"Arvind Kejriwal will take oath as the Delhi Chief Minister on February 14 at Ramlila Maidan," AAP leader Ashutosh said after the party's landslide victory in the Delhi Assembly polls.

Kejriwal emerged victorious in the high-profile New Delhi constituency by handing over a crushing defeat to BJP's Nupur Sharma by a huge margin of 31,583 votes.

After AAP had thrown a surprise by uprooting Congress out of power in 2013 Assembly elections as a debutant party, Kejriwal had taken oath as Delhi's seventh Chief Minister on December 28 at a public ceremony in the historic Ramlila Maidan, the venue of the Lokpal movement.

He had defeated the three-time Delhi Chief Minister Shiela Dixit on her home-turf by a margin of 25,864 votes.

However, after serving the government for 49 days, he had resigned on February 14 last year after his push for the anti-corruption Jan Lokpal Bill was blocked in the state Assembly by BJP and Congress.

The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) won 48 seats and was leading in 19 others out of 70 seats, making a spectacular come back to power nearly a year after its government had quit on the Lokpal Bill issue.

The BJP won two seats and was leading in another while Congress drew a blank.

Arvind Kejriwal, Manish Sisodia, Somnath Bharti, Gopal Rai, Rakhi Birla, Saurabh Bhardwaj and all other prominent AAP leaders emerged victorious.

Almost all senior BJP leaders including its Chief Ministerial nominee Kiran Bedi lost the polls. The only saving grace for the BJP was victory of its former state unit president Vijender Gupta who won from Rohini.

In a major victory for the party, AAP candidate from Krishna Nagar S K Bagga defeated Kiran Bedi by 2,277 votes.

In the last election, the BJP had emerged as the largest party with 31 seats, the AAP 28 and the Congress 8. Kejriwal formed a government with Congress support and resigned after 49 days in February 2014 over the Lokpal issue.
Next Story
Share it