Millennium Post

Kejriwal to contest from New Delhi

Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) on Wednesday announced that party convenor and former Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal will contest from New Delhi constituency again in the upcoming Delhi assembly elections. 

Kejriwal defeated three-time Chief Minister Sheila Dikshit in 2013 in the constituency by over 26,000 votes. He then headed a minority government for 49 days. His name figured in the fifth list of eight candidates announced by the AAP. It has so far declared 59 candidates for elections expected to be held in February. In the list of eight candidates announced on Wednesday, the party has dropped it’s ex-MLA from Seemapuri Dharmender Singh and awarded ticket to a new candidate Rajendra Gautam. With this list AAP has so far declared 59 out of 70 candidates in the upcoming Delhi assembly elections. The other candidates declared on Wednesday are Fateh Singh, former deputy speaker of Delhi assembly who had quit BJP to join AAP seven days back. Besides, S D Sharma from Ghonda, Kailash Gehlot from Najafgarh, Amanatullah Khan from Okhla, Rajendra Dabas from Mundka, Naresh Balyan from Uttam Nagar. 

AAP has so far fielded 20 ex-MLAs out of 28 it had got last time.  Delhi BJP has criticised AAP for fielding Amanatullah Khan from Okhla who was accused of putting up posters and was later arrested. He is currently out on bail. 

Next Story
Share it