Millennium Post

Kejriwal announces dates, guidelines

“Women drivers, CNG-operated vehicles, Chief Ministers of states and vehicles carrying students in uniform will remain exempted from the restrictions of the second phase of odd-even traffic scheme,” Kejriwal told reporters. Delhi’s Chief Minister and other ministers would not be exempted from odd-even restrictions, he added. He also launched a helpline for it.

“People can call on 011-422400400 if they have any questions related to odd-even traffic scheme.”

The second phase of the odd-even traffic scheme will start on April 15 and will continue for a fortnight. The Delhi Pollution Control Committee (DPCC) will gauge the impact of the second phase of the odd-even plan on the Capital’s air quality at 119 locations in and around the city. 

Meanwhile, Kejriwal also added that the Delhi government is “seriously” mulling a proposal to enforce the odd-even scheme for 15 days every month. He added that a fortnight every month was being thought of since it cannot be made permanent in the absence of a robust public transport system.
Kejriwal also urged Union ministers, who have been given exemption under odd-even scheme, to voluntarily follow the car-rationing experiment. Like the first phase of odd-even scheme, the AAP government has kept the Union ministers out of the ambit of second phase of the scheme.

Meanwhile, a political activist hurled a shoe at Kejriwal on Saturday when he had just begun giving out details of the odd-even scheme for cars. The shoe missed him by a whisker. The shoe-thrower, Ved Prakash, said he was the Aam Aadmi Sena. He was arrested soon after he hurled the shoe and a CD at the Chief Minister. Delhi Culture Minister Kapil Mishra claimed that Ved Prakash was in touch with a BJP leader before the attack. He demanded that his call records should be probed.

Sources said, after the attack Sharma’s phone was checked by party volunteers and the Delhi government official.

AAP leader Kumar Vishwas said this shows frustration of rival parties ahead of Punjab polls.

Next Story
Share it