Millennium Post

Karnataka pip Bengal

Abhimanyu Mithun’s brilliant bowling at death enabled defending champions Karnataka to edge out Bengal by six runs in a thrilling semi-final of the national one-day championship for the Vijay Hazare Trophy, here on Sunday. Karnataka will meet Punjab in the final scheduled on Tuesday.

Batting first, Karnataka scored a respectable 268 for nine in 50 overs after being down at 222 for nine. It was skipper Vinay Kumar’s long handle that took the score past 265 with the India discard contributing 39 off 30 balls with six fours. In reply, Bengal were cruising along at 256 for six needing 13 off the last two covers. To their horror, the lower-order failed to keep their cool as they lost the last four wickets for the addition of just six runs.BRIEF SCORES Karnataka 268/9 in 50 overs (S Binny 50, Iresh Saxena 2/27) Bengal 262 all out in 49.5 overs (Sudeep Chatterjee 67, Manoj Tiwary 56, A Mithun 3/40). Karnataka won by 6 runs.

Punjab through to final

Delightful fifties from Amitoze Singh and Mandeep Singh helped Punjab canter to a seven-wicket win over Odisha and enter the final of Vijay Hazare Trophy on Sunday. Chasing 239 for a win at the Sardar Patel Stadium at Motera, the Harbhajan Singh-led side rode on a 167-run second-wicket partnership between Amitoze (91) and Mandeep (81) to achieve the target in 48.3 overs.

BRIEF SCORES Odisha: 238/7 in 50 overs (Arabind Singh 89, Natraj Behera 61); Punjab: 244 for 3 in 48.3 overs (Amitoze 91, Mandeep 81).
Next Story
Share it