Millennium Post

Karnataka CM Siddaramaiah to induct two ‘tainted’ MLAs into his cabinet

Karnataka CM Siddaramaiah is all set to expand his more than seven month-old ministry by inducting two ‘tainted’ senior legislators on Wednesday, a move that has set off discontent among ministerial aspirants.

The swearing-in ceremony of D K Shivakumar and Roshan Baig will take place at 5.15 pm, Raj Bhavan sources said here after Siddaramaiah held an hour-long meeting with Governor H R Bhardwaj at Raj Bhavan.

Siddaramaiah had been resisting induction of Shivakumar and Baig, as they were viewed as ‘scam-tainted’, but has reportedly yielded ground after being told to do so by the party high command.

Baig was a minister in the S M Krishna government and had to resign after his name was linked to Karim Telgi stamp paper scam in 2003. Shivakumar, on the other hand, is facing serious charges of illegal mining and land scam. Siddaramaiah, who took over as chief minister on 13 May after the Congress’ spectacular victory in the Assembly polls, had inducted 28 ministers in one go in the first expansion on 18 May, leaving out the ‘tainted’ to start on a ‘clean slate’.
Next Story
Share it