Millennium Post

J&K home secy shunted out

J&K home secy shunted out
The Mufti Mohammed Sayeed government’s decision to release Alam, who faces 27 cases including murder, sedition and conspiracy, had kicked up a political storm bringing strains in the PDP-BJP alliance in the state and Congress slamming the state government. Kumar’s transfer was announced along with shuffling and postings of 56 other officers after a meeting of the Cabinet, chaired by Sayeed, an official spokesperson said.

The government also decided appointing people having Jammu and Kashmir as their domicile at key posts which includes Inspector Generals of Police of both the zones as well as the Divisional Commissioners. B Srinivas, a 1990 IPS officer of JK cadre, who held the crucial CID department of the state, was moved as Inspector General of Home Guards. He has been replaced by Abdul Gani Mir, a 1994 batch IPS officer who migrated to the state cadre from Jharkhand.

Prior to this posting, Mir was IGP (Kashmir range). He has been replaced by Syed Javed Mustafa Gilani, a 1994 IPS officer from the state cadre. Divisional Commissioner of Jammu Shantmanu, an IAS officer of 1991 cadre, has been replaced by Pawan Kotwal, a 1994 batch IAS officer. 

Rohit Kansal, Divisional Commissioner of Kashmir division, has also been shifted and Gazzanfar Hussain takes over the charge. Kansal, an IAS officer of 1995 batch, was posted as Divisional Commissioner last July.

Shantmanu has been shifted to Commissioner/Secretary Medical Health Education while Kansal, who was the private secretary to the then Union Minister Farooq Abdullah, has been posted as Commissioner Public Works department. Danish Rana, a 1996 batch IPS officer, has been posted as IGP Jammu region. His name had been proposed as IG (Personnel) at the headquarters but was changed at the last minute intervention of state’s Deputy Chief Minister Nirmal Singh. Rajesh Kumar, who was at the post now being held by Rana, will be the new Director of Sher-e-Kashmir Police Academy  S J M Gillani, (JK:94), IGP Crime, has been transferred and posted as IGP, Kashmir Zone.

Next Story
Share it