Millennium Post

It’s final, BSP not to join Third Front

It’s final, BSP not to join Third Front
While claiming that the ‘Modi factor’ will not work in Uttar Pradesh for BJP during the Lok Sabha elections, Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) president Mayawati ruled out speculations of joining any Third Front, as an alternative to the BJP and Congress, here on Thursday. She also announced the first list of 36 candidates for the party in Uttar Pradesh, who will contest the Lok Sabha polls.

‘The Modi factor will not at all work in UP due to several reasons,’ she said, adding, ‘there is no question of Third or Fourth Front as all will depend on the performance of the parties and the election results.’

Speaking to reporters before addressing a Brahmin conference of her party, Mayawati said that several surprises were in store in the coming Lok Sabha elections, which could take place ahead of schedule.

Fifty per cent of the tickets, as part of the first list of 36 Lok Sabha candidates, were given to Brahmin candidates. Surprisingly, the BSP, claiming to be a secular party, has fielded Ayodhya demolition accused and former Shiv Sena legislator Pawan Pandey, from the all important Sultanpur seat. The BJP general secretary Varun Gandhi is also expected to contest for the same seat.

CBI had chargesheeted Pawan Pandey and he is still under trial.

The list also contains six sitting Lok Sabha members and one Rajya Sabha member of the party.

R K Choudhury, who had recently rejoined the party, has been given ticket from the Mohanlalganj seat in Lucknow, while Umeed Singh, husband of dacoit Phoolan Devi, would be contesting from Shahjahanpur.

‘Brahmins were misguided during the 2012 assembly elections but now they are again with the BSP along with other upper caste,’ Mayawati said, while she disclosed that surprising results are expected in UP during the Lok Sabha elections.

Reiterating her demand for reservation for the poor from the upper caste, the BSP supremo said that the Centre should reconsider her party’s demand to give reservation to them.

Former UP minister and accused in a disproportionate assets case, Rakeshdhar Tripathi has been given a ticket for the Mirzapur seat. He had contested that seat in the assembly elections as an Independent and even lost his deposit in the 2012 assembly elections.

Senior BSP leader Ramveer Upadhaya’s wife Seema, who is a sitting MP from Fatehpur Sikri, has been re-nominated from the same seat, while his brother Mukul Upadhaya,  a Member of Legislative Council (MLC), has been given a ticket from the Ghaziabad constituency, which is currently represented by BJP president Rajnath Singh.

Former UP minister Nakul Dubey has been given a ticket for the Lucknow seat, while Rajya Sabha member Brajesh Pathak will contest from the Unnao constituency.
Next Story
Share it